Project 2012

I don’t think I’ve ever made a resolution for a new year before, but last night, instead of planning a(nother) non-trip to the Rose Parade, or watching the ball drop over Times Square, I indulged in a bit of America’s other favorite New Year’s past-time: I thought about the things I always think I must do, and the habits I always promise to break. And since I’m about to embark on a very busy six months, I figured there’s no better time to add a bit more to the mix, because the more goals we have, the better we stay on track. (It ties into the whole soliloquy of “Idleness is the devil’s workshop.”) Also, if the world is going to end this year, it better be as close to the best year of my life as I can make it!

New length of fabric, begging to be stitched

New length of fabric, begging to be stitched

I will sew myself some new clothes and get rid of the old. There are things in my closet dating back 15 years, and while they still fit and are in good shape, I hardly wear them. Also, I will sew things that are not so voluminously loose. Why have I been dressing like a whale these past few years?!

Elliptical, begging to be abused

Elliptical, begging to be abused

I will exercise daily, on that very expensive elliptical I researched half to death before buying. My heart needs the exercise even more than my hips do.

News, begging to be ignored

News, begging to be ignored

I will spend less time on politics/news/current events. This will mean unsubscribing from a whole bunch of very good twitter feeds, but I’ll keep a few that are exceptional. The reducing of the noise will help me be much more effective in my tasks of the next six months.

Food, begging to be eaten!

Food, begging to be eaten!

I will spend less time on food photography, more time finding true inspiration, and more effort into improving my photography skills. This won’t necessarily mean less baking, but it will mean less of the incessant step-by-step snapping of any given process.

Leave a Reply

