Triple the chocolate

When we were kids, our parents were of the sort who did not buy cakes, cookies, and pies from any store or bakery anywhere in the world under any circumstances whatsoever. Well, perhaps I exaggerate a little bit on that count, but I do not exaggerate when I say that my mother would sooner fill a 25-gallon tub with homemade chocolate chip cookies than even risk us kids looking sideways at an 18 ounce package of preservative-laden, artificial-flavor-ridden, food-coloring-soaked items of a decidedly inferior quality.

So, when I was a kid, I never even knew cookies such as these existed. Occasionally, when we’d go out to LA for a Saturday at the Griffith Park Observatory, or some museum exhibition, or just an endless day at the mall, my dad would buy packages of Hit cookies, which were basically butter biscuits sandwiched with a chocolate filling. Sometimes he’d have them, and sometimes he wouldn’t, but we’d never know until we were having our tail-gate picnic lunch. So the potential promise of them would basically bribe us into submission, and we’d behave ourselves until we got a “hit” off the (proverbial) crack pipe. And if there was no Hit to be had, well, we’d be too exhausted to care. (OMG. There’s a Facebook page for these Hit cookies, and someone on there comments that they are as “addicting as crack.” So glad I’m not the only one!)

I saw these Devil’s Food Cookies on Tasteologie, which took me to the recipe on mybakingdom.com, and I found that it was a knock-off of a ready-made cookie. Knowing, from the very core of my DNA (thank you, mother) that these would be better than anything a grocery store could serve up, I had to give it a go. I was not disappointed: these are pillowy soft cake/cookie, and they are so perfectly satisfying that I figure I’m not lacking anything in my life for not having had the ready-made version of these as a kid. They are even better than Hit, which I guess might make them akin to heroin. Or whatever is better worse than crack.

Last week, I made a chocolate marshmallow creme, so that was waiting around to be used up. This project was the perfect candidate, turning them into Triple Devil’s Food Cookies: Chocolate in the cookie, chocolate in the filling, and chocolate on top.

Thank you God for guiding me to double the recipe. Amen! I made these a bit larger than I should have, and next time I wouldn’t flatten them out as much as I did before baking. The yield as is was 33…but I could easily see getting 40 out of this batch.

Ingredients:
4 oz butter, softened
8 oz brown sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
4 oz buttermilk
8 oz AP flour
2 oz cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Method:

  1. Cream together butter and sugar till light and fluffy. Beat eggs in one at a time, until well blended. Beat in vanilla.
  2. Sift together dry ingredients, then fold in alternately with buttermilk.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease4 baking sheets, or line with parchment paper or Silpat mats.
  4. Drop tablespoon of batter for each cookie, fitting about 10 cookies per baking sheet.
  5. Bake two trays at a time for about 10 minutes, or until tops of cookies spring back to the touch.
  6. Let rest of hot baking sheets for a couple of minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool.
  7. Spread marshmallow filling over cookies. Chill for about 30  minutes in the refrigerator, then spread with chocolate glaze.

Filling:
12 oz marshmallow creme
5 oz butter
8 oz powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Method:

  1. Beat together butter and powdered sugar till mixture is light and fluffy.
  2. Beat in marshmallow creme and vanilla until well combined.

Chocolate Glaze:
8 oz chocolate (1/2 bittersweet, 1/2 milk chocolate)
5 TB butter, divided
2 TB corn syrup or honey

  1. Combine chocolate, 2 TB butter, and corn syrup in a bowl over a pot of simmering water (double boiler style).
  2. Mix till chocolate is melted and mixture is well blended.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in remaining butter–this helps the mixture cool down a bit quicker.
  4. Drop tablespoon of chocolate over each filled cookie, and spread with a butter knife or small spatula. Chill to set, then serve.

Keep cookies in covered container, separating with wax paper, in fridge or in plain sight.

3 thoughts on “Triple the chocolate

  1. Pingback: Sinful Devil’s Food Cakes for an Extra Chocolatey Halloween | Yummly

Leave a Reply

